A DUI or driving under the influence in South Carolina is a broad concept, and there are three instances wherein a driver can be booked for a DUI in Myrtle Beach. The first instance is when a driver has an impaired driving ability due to the influence of alcohol. The second instance is when a driver is under the influence of drugs or mixture of drugs which can impair safe driving ability. Thirdly, driving under the influence of alcohol and drugs that can impair the ability of the driver to drive safely. When it comes to DUAC (driving with unlawful alcohol concentration), it is somehow similar to DUI, only that this is considered only if the person’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is above 0.8% or more. If you pass the sobriety tests that the arresting enforcement officer administers, you won’t be arrested for a DUI, and this manifested with a BAC of less than 0.8%.
It is always a good idea contacting a DUI lawyer if you are arrested for DUI or DUAC. The punishment for DUAC and DUI are the same with permanent record of the charge in South Carolina. In order to avoid being convicted with a DUI or to get the lightest sentence possible, you have to ensure that a DUI lawyer is always available to help you. A DUAC conviction should have proven that you were driving with a BAC of more than 0.8%, whereas a DUI needs a substantial evidence that you are noticeably and substantially impaired to drive because of alcohol, drugs, or a combination of the two. The first two convictions are regarded as misdemeanor, involving a mandatory 6-month driver’s license suspension, and possible application of ignition interlock device. Also expect a mandatory prison time for a BAC of 0.8% and 0.10% with a minimum prison time of 2 days up to 30 days, 3 to 30 days for a BAC of 0.10% and 0.16%, and between 30 to 90 days for a BAC above 0.16%. The prison time can be avoided on the first offense by doing community services, and the fines usually range from $400 to $1000 depending on the result of BAC. You’ll have to get an expensive car insurance on the R-22 form coming from the DMV if you’re arrested and convicted with DUI in South Carolina. Your succeeding DUI arrests and convictions will be greatly influenced by your first conviction for a span of ten years.
You need to hire a trusted, reliable, reputable, and experienced DUI attorney such as T. Kirk Truslow P.A. to legally represent you and help you get the lightest sentence possible, and avoid conviction. In order to avoid a future major legal problem, it is best to hire an experienced DUI lawyer in Myrtle Beach because any DUI arrest is permanently recorded on your profile.